Select Page

The Edison Awards, recognized as one of America’s leading innovation awards, today announced that Paul E. Jacobs, Ph.D., Chairman & CEO of Qualcomm, Inc., will be awarded the prestigious Edison Achievement Award on April 25, 2013 in Chicago.  The distinction honors distinguished business executives who have made a significant and lasting contribution to innovation throughout their careers and whose accomplishments serve as inspiration to every industry and to the world at large.

Paul Jacobs has been a leader in the field of mobile communications for over two decades and is a key architect of Qualcomm’s strategic vision.  Through his technological innovations and advocacy, Jacobs spearheaded Qualcomm’s efforts to develop and commercialize mobile technology breakthroughs that have contributed significantly to the growth of the company and the industry at large.  Some of the most notable initiatives that can be attributed to Jacobs’ leadership include the first smartphone based on Palm OS®, the inclusion of GPS capabilities in mobile phones, the Brew® system, which enables over-the-air downloading of applications, QChat, a VOIP, push-to-talk system, and mirasol®, an advanced reflective display technology.

“We’re extremely honored that Paul will be joining the ranks of our extraordinary Edison Achievement Award winners,” said Frank Bonafilia, Executive Director of the Edison Awards.  “His extraordinary contributions to the world of wireless technology have changed the way people all over the world communicate.  Paul’s vision, leadership and compassion serve as a living acknowledgement and embodiment of Thomas Edison’s values and principles,” Bonafilia added.

A sampling of past Edison Achievement Award winners includes:

Chris Anderson, TED Curator and Founder of the Sapling Foundation
Steve Jobs, CEO of Apple, Inc.

Alan Mulally, CEO of Ford Motor Company

John S. Hendricks, Founder and Chairman, Discovery Communications

A.G. Lafley, Retired Chairman and CEO, Procter & Gamble

Martha Stewart, Chairman, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, LLC

Ted Turner, Vice Chairman, Time Warner

About the Edison Awards™
The Edison Awards is a program conducted by Edison Universe, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to fostering future innovators.  The Awards have been recognizing and honoring the best in innovations and innovators since 1987. They honor game-changing innovations that are at the forefront of new product and service development, marketing and human-centered design, and are one of the highest accolades a company can receive in the name of successful innovation. The 2013 Edison Awards are sponsored by Nielsen, Discovery Communications, Science Channel and USA Today. For more information about the Edison Awards and a list of past winners, visit

For additional information, contact Deborah Zimmer, 815-451-4100;

Earthgarage is a media partner for The Edison Awards.